One on One with @bronshay_730

bronshay
Queenbridge’s own Bronshay speaks of the streets, his life and his brush-ins with death through his music. If you follow him on social media, you know he does not bite his tongue. Call him whatever you may, but Bronshay is one of those who’s as real as it gets. I sit with him on today’s One on One.

What made you fall in love with hip hop?
I fell in love with hip-hop when I first heard Black Moon “Don’t Front” when I heard buckshot flow I was like “this shit is dope” then I started hearing other rappers like Nas, Biggie, Craig Mack, 2pac…..

In your own opinion, how do you describe your style? What makes it unique?
I feel I have the ability to make music that is timeless. I’m not a metaphorical rapper. I don’t say stuff too crazy to make u think hard. I believe I do enough to get the job done on a record.

What was life growing up for you?
Life growing up was a definite struggle and I didn’t realize that til I started to get a little older. I had lost most of my immediate family by the time I was 12. They killed my mom when I was 9 and then they turned around and killed my brother when I was 10. At 12 I lost my grandfather and that took a major toll on me. Seeing all those deaths at a young age just made me adjust to the situation and I felt that, what I was seeing at that time was the way I was supposed to live.

In your new single, Flames, you teamed up with Blaq Poet from the group, Screwball. How did the collaboration come about?
The record “Flames”was pre-recorded a few months before poet got on it. Its produced by my producer Ten Street. I’ve always been a part of Screwball a lot of people don’t know. I built a relationship wit Poet a few years back I was a young dude growing up in Queensbridge when he was doing his thing but he knew my older brother “Fudd”.I presented the track to poet and he felt it was hot. He jumped on it with no problem or any questions asked.

Is there anyone that you would love to collaborate with?
There’s a few artist out there I would to collaborate with but not many…. mainly artist from the era I grew up in.

On Facebook, you often have a gritty, unapologetic and sometimes comical look at life from the hood mentality point of view. Do you show that side in your music at times?
I have a little bit of everything on my album. The humor part is mainly going to come from the skits and interludes through out the album. Lol I’m not a Weird Al kinda guy.

What is your opinion on the state of hip hop as it is today? What do you think can be done to make it better?
I have a dozen of mixed feelings about hip hop at the moment. Some of it I respect and some of it don’t. I also feel some of these dudes shouldn’t fall under the hip hop category. I love the way its evolved around the world and is recognized by everyone. The elements of it are lost. No one knows the 5 elements of where it started from. I’m no longer excited to turn on the radio to hear music. I don’t know if there’s anything that can be done to help it. It’s been gone so far long with internet and other terms of streaming that originality of it is gone and recreated for the younger generation. I just stay in my lane and do my music how I know how to and not get too caught up in what everyone else is doing. I can’t stand the fact New York dudes are trying to sound like their from the South or Midwest to to be irrelevant. We created this.

Do you have any upcoming projects?
I do have a few projects in the works. Right now I’m looking at a few writers and publishers. I plan on turning my album Diary of A Shooter into a book and movie. I also have a EP I’m about to start working on with a good friend of mine who goes by the name of Diggy Don, he’s a producer from Rhode Island and few more things I don’t wanna speak about just yet cause of paper work and negotiations.

What are your top 3 songs of all time and why?
1 of my favorite songs is Nas “Halftime” …. that flow is freakin’ amazing. Nobody was flowing like him around that time. To me he was like an updated version of Rakim in a my eyes.

B. I love Pac records, it’s kinda hard for me to pinpoint one exact record because they all were dope. If I had to I would pick “Me Against the World” I had days when my back was up against the wall and I knew I was the only person I can depend on. The chorus alone of that song gave me enough strength to stay focused to do what I needed to do.

C. 50 Cent’s “Many Men” is one of my favorites. I’ve been in that situation before and felt the exact same way. The song speaks for itself

What is on thing that you would want your fans and readers to know about you?
I would want them to know that I’m a real person and I feel the same pain they feel. I go through the same hurt, and frustration as everyone else and that’s something I put in my music as well. I want them to know I know what its like and still know what its like to go through certain situations and not feeling anyone is in their corner. I’m also for the youth as well being a voice for the young teenager that’s crying out but everyone is too blind to see through their actions.

What could the fans and readers expect from your music?
My fans can always expect me to be the voice for the underdog.

@bronshay_730

Leave a Reply

