September 11, 2001: My Story

Remember September 11. New York City Manhattan panorama view at night with office building skyscrapers skyline illuminated over Hudson River and two light beam in memory of September 11.
Remember September 11. New York City Manhattan panorama view at night with office building skyscrapers skyline illuminated over Hudson River and two light beam in memory of September 11.

My reflection of what happened at 9/11 was not a pretty one. It speaks of a tale of horror and racism.

I just got into my job when the first plane hit the North Tower at World Trade Center. I thought it was an accident until my boss called the office and said “A second plane just hit the other building. LEAVE NOW!!!!” The only thing that was on my mind was my sister, who worked 10 blocks from me and on that day, it one of my longest journeys ever.

During the walk, what I saw was people with emotions of fear, anger and rage. Some were running for safety, some stood in shock of the view of that thick black cloud, but I was literally in tears when some citizens went as far as beating on innocent Eastern Indians and Arabs, throwing them on the ground, jumping and kicking on them, saying “YOU DID THIS TO US!!!”

Finally got to my sister and we both managed to get a ride home, but you can still see the horrific view all the way from the Bronx. The footage on the news was too devastating for me to look at, but as I reflect on that day, we shall remember the people who passed on in the horror or those who transitioned trying to help in the aftermath of it all. People are still dying from this matter to this very day, but all that really comes to my mind was the vision of the beatings of the innocent who came to this country for a better life and loved it just like the rest of us.

What I learned on that day is…as citizens…all we got is each other. We all must learn to love one another, even through difficult times.

Leave a Reply

